-A +A

Board of Directors

Expression of interest – board and community member positions

Throughout the year, the Markham Stouffville Hospital Board of Directors look for qualified candidates who are interested in joining either the board or sitting on a board committee as a community member. If you are interested, please download this information sheet on how to apply.


  • Thomas Barlow, Chair
  • Allan O'Dette, Chair Elect
  • Ranjeet Wallia, Past Chair
  • Bob Nicholson, Treasurer
  • Jo-anne Marr, President, CEO and Secretary 

Board Members

  • Mike Arnew
  • David Austin (Chief of Staff)
  • Mark Boehmer
  • Xerxes Cooper
  • Brad Morris
  • Drew Gerrard
  • Rishi Kapur
  • Luca Rotta Loria
  • Marcia Mendes-d’Abreu
  • Cristina Popa, M.D. (President, Medical Staff Association)
  • Barbara Steed (Chief Nurse Officer)
  • Peter Wilkinson
  • Glenn Winder

Community Members

  • Ashesh Desai
  • Stephen Fitch
  • Kelvin Tran
  • Frances DiCarlo
  • Eleanor Leggat

Medical Members

  • Cristina Popa, M.D (President)
  • David Austin, M.D. (Chief of Staff)


  • Jo-anne Marr ( President and CEO)
  • Barbara Steed (Chief Nursing Executive, Markham Stouffville Hospital)
  • Ian Bacque (Chair, Uxbridge Cottage Hospital Foundation)
  • Brad Morris (Chair, MSH Foundation)

Notice of board meeting open to the public:

Thursday, January 25, 2018

5:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Health Services Building, Auditorium
379 Church Street, 4th Floor
Markham, Ontario

Agenda items include: approval of minutes, Chair and CEO reports, strategy update.

View the executive summary of previous meetings below.

Past Board Meeting Executive Summaries